LABORATORY OF MICELLAR ENZYMOLOGY

Head of the laboratory: Professor Andrey V.Levashov, Dr.Sc., PhD

Tel.: (7095) 939-3429, Fax: (7095) 939-0997, E-mail: levashov@mic.phys.msu.su

The main goal of the laboratory of micellar enzymology (it is now 10 years since the lab was announced) is studying the role of supramolecular organization of enzymes in their functioning. It was suggested for enzymes to be entrapped into surfactants aggregates, micelles, for modelling their natural biomembrane environment. Such aggregates can be formed in the systems surfactant-water-organic solvents. It is very easy to solubilize enzymes into micelles of different structure and sizes. Moreover, the level of the catalytic activity of enzymes can by easily regulated by micellar matrix, and can by much higher than that in water (in classical enzymology). Using the systems of reverse micelles the role of lipid and carbohydrate components in the enzyme regulation was studied. It is known that enzymes in Nature represent complex orginized glyco-lipo-protein assembles.

One of the laboratory tasks is to study the enzyme stability at different conditions (high temperature, organic solvents, etc.), and development of different approaches to stabilization of biocatalysts using surfactants, polymeric materials, polyelectolytes, etc.

About 200 papers were published since the laboratory exists, 50 specialists graduated from the laboratory (Faculty of Chemistry, Moscow State University), 30 PhD theses were successfully presented.

Publications:

1. N.L.Klyachko, A.V.Levashov, A.V.Kabanov, K.Martinek. Micellar enzymology: catalysis by enzymes entrapped into hydrated surfactant aggregates having various structures in organic solvents. In: Kinetics and Catalysis in Microheterogeneous Systems, M.Gratzel, K.Kalianasundaram, eds., Marcel Dekker Inc. 1991, p.135-181.

2. A.V.Levashov, A.V.Ugolnikova, M.V.Ivanov, N.L.Klyachko. Formation of homo- and heterooligomeric supramolecular structures by D-glyceraldehyde-3-phosphate dehydrogenase and lactate dehydrogenase in reversed micelles of Aerosol OT in octane. Biochem. Mol. Biol. Int. 1997, v.42, p.527-534.

ЛАБОРАТОРИЯ МИЦЕЛЛЯРНОЙ ЭНЗИМОЛОГИИ

Руководитель: профессор, доктор химических наук Левашов Андрей Вадимович

Тел.: (7095) 939-3429, факс: (7095) 939-0997, эл.почта: levashov@enzyme.chem.msu.ru

Центральной задачей лаборатории мицеллярной энзимологии (существующей на кафедре 10 лет) является выяснение роли надмолекулярной организации ферментов в проявлении ими каталитической активности. Для моделирования биомембранного природного окружения ферментов предложено включать их в агрегаты поверхностно-активных веществ (ПАВ), мицеллы, образующиеся в системах ПАВ-вода-органические растворители. Ферменты способны включаться в мицеллы различной структуры и размеров, причем уровень ферментативной активности регулируется мицеллярной матрицей и может превышать наблюдаемый в воде (в классической энзимологии). При использовании систем обращенных мицелл поставлены исследования роли как липидной, так и углеводной компоненты в регуляции ферментов, представляющих в природе сложно организованные глико-липо-протеидные ансамбли.

Одной из задач лаборатории является изучение стабильности ферментов в различных условиях (высокие температуры, использование органических растворителей и других) и разработка различных подходов к стабилизации биокатализаторов, в том числе с использованием поверхностно-активных веществ, различных полимерных материалов, полиэлектролитов и т.д.

За время существования лаборатории опубликовано около 200 работ, подготовлено около 50 специалистов, выпускников Химического факультета МГУ, примерно 30 кандидатов наук.

Публикации:

1. N.L.Klyachko, A.V.Levashov, A.V.Kabanov, K.Martinek. Micellar enzymology: catalysis by enzymes entrapped into hydrated surfactant aggregates having various structures in organic solvents. In: Kinetics and Catalysis in Microheterogeneous Systems, M.Gratzel, K.Kalianasundaram, eds., Marcel Dekker Inc. 1991, p.135-181.

2. A.V.Levashov, A.V.Ugolnikova, M.V.Ivanov, N.L.Klyachko. Formation of homo- and heterooligomeric supramolecular structures by D-glyceraldehyde-3-phosphate dehydrogenase and lactate dehydrogenase in reversed micelles of Aerosol OT in octane. Biochem. Mol. Biol. Int. 1997, v.42, p.527-534.